Chasing the Sunrise travel blog

Roadway into Bulow Sugar Plantaion Ruins.

Entry into sugar mill ruins.

Information about mill ruins.

One of the ovens used to supply heat for the processes in...

Plaque engraved on the side of a stack.

Side of a storage and shipping building at the mill.

Mill processing plant building ruins.

One of the hand dug wells to supply water for the mill...

Part of the ruins of the buildings in the sugar processing area.

Stone corner in the ruins with a fern growing.

Back side of the mill.

Loading and shipping area where wagons would pull in to load hogsheads...

Story of the loading docks.

What the mill would have looked like when standing.

Some of the tools and equipment used to process sugar at the...

What the Bulow mansion would have looked like before it was burned.

Sign on the road to the mill from the mansion.

Approaching the mill from the front. The present palm trees and most...

The Bulow creek and marshes where rice was grown during plantation operation.

Rita and I on the dock at the plantation ranger station.

Down the banks where boats would tie up to receive hogsheads for...

Boat slips are still visable if you look. Some are kind of...

This is a boat slip. Green grass is where the boat would...

This is where the Bulow mansion once stood facing Bulow creek.

Still no alligators. Nor swimmers... We did see a boat pass.


Historic Bulow plantation and sugar mill ruins was a great place to visit. We especially enjoyed the visit because it was so close to our RV park. Just a two mile drive to the ruins.

The plantation was esbablished in 1821 by Major Charles Wilhelm Bulow on 4.675 acres of tide land bordering a creek named after him. Over 2,000 acres were cleared to plant cotton, sugar cane, rice, and indigo. Soon after the plantation was established the major died at age 44. He left his holdings to his son John. Under John's management the plantation thrived until the 2nd Seminole War. John got along with the Seminole and did not agree with the government in sending the indians to reservations in Mississippi. He demonstrated his disapproval by firing a cannon at government troops as they entered his land. He was taken prisoner and his plantation was turned briefly into a military outpost. After his release John Bulow abandon the plantation as the indians became more hostile. On January 11, 1836 the Seminoles burned the plantation as well as many others. All that is now left are the ruins of the mill. The forest has reclaimed the land back to what it was before the plantation was established. When it was in operation the Bulow Sugar Mill was the largest of it's kind in Florida.

We would highly recommend a visit to the mill if you are in the area.



Advertisement
OperationEyesight.com
Entry Rating:     Why ratings?
Please Rate:  
Thank you for voting!
Share |