The Capper Nomads Europe Adventure travel blog

Arundel Cathedral

The front of the Cathedral

Alter of the cathderal

Organ in the cathderal

Folley in the castle grounds

Parich Church of St Nicholas

Through the glass screen into the Fitzalan Chapel

Arundel Castle

One of the many buildings in the town

The Town Hall

Looking up at the castle

Looking across the river to the town and castle

Looking along the river


As you approach Arundel you are struck by the skyline of the towering Arundel Castle and the Cathedral. For seven centuries the town has been the seat of the dukes of Norfolk. The town retains much of its original medieval appearance although most was built in the 18th and 19th centuries

For once the sun was shining and there was a hint of spring in the air so it was lovely to walk around the small hilltop town and have lunch by the river.

We were able to visit the towering Gothic Arundel Cathedral which had been constructed in the 1870’s by the 15th Duke of Norfolk. Just down from the Cathedral was the Parish Church of St Nicholas which was built in 1380. The church is very unusual. The main western portion of the church came under the jurisdiction of the Church of England at the time of the Reformation, but the eastern portion remained the property of the Duke of Norfolk and the Roman Catholic Church known as the Fitzalan Chapel. There continued to be disputes and in 1874 a wall was built splitting the church. However in 1968 the wall was removed and a glass screen erected giving a view into the chapel where the Dukes of Norfolk are buried and Requiem Masses offered according to the Roman Catholic Rite.

Unfortunately due to the time of year Arundel Castle was not open so we had to make do with a walk along the river giving views up of the castle. The original castle dates back to Norman times but was ruined during the Civil War. However it was lavishly reconstructed from the 1718 onwards to the magnificent castle seen today.

Share |