|Another lovely day. We headed north to explore the Vale of Rheidol.
Our first stop was the Bwlch Nany yr Arian Nature Reserve which had been an area of mining for silver and lead. Today very few scares of the mining are visible and the area of the Cambrian Mountains is just beautiful. To appreciate the area we put on our boots and walked the Ridgetop trail from the visitor centre. The views were just stunning and the trail good.
After our walk we headed to nearby Cwm Reidol Reservoir. This is the final element in a hydroelectric scheme that starts high in the headwaters of the Rheidol River at the Nat-y-Moch Reservoir. It was an excellent place for an afternoon tea in the sunshine. From the reservoir we drove up the narrow and steep country lanes of the valley.
Our final stop in the valley was the Devil’s Bridge. The attraction here is that three road bridges are built on top of one another over the River Mynach. The bridges are dated 1901, 1753 and lowest one built in the 11th century. To see the bridges we took the shorter Punch Bowl trail. As well as the bridges there is a series of rock bowls caused by the tremendous force of the River Mynach.
We then headed back to base on the deserted back roads of this part of Wales.