Carolyn & Greg's Nomadic Adventures .../CanberratoCooktown_2013 travel blog

Urungan Pier 1

Peppers Resort

Hervey Bay Boat Harbour

Maryborough markets on Adelaide St.

Anglican Precinct

Old Railway Platform Maryborough

Tin Can Bay Markets

Tin Can Bay RSL

More of the Bay

18th-25th September

Saturday was market day in Tin Can Bay. Walking down, we were surprised to see that it was a large market with a variety of craft and produce. Tried our luck in the sea food raffle but once again no luck. Couldn't resist the produce buying rockmelon,pineapple and strawberries. Getting quite warm now so we head back to the park.

We have been enjoying lots of walks around the area and decided on Thursday we would do a day trip to Hervey Bay. Taking about an hour and half we arrived on a grey overcast, very windy day. Not sure what happened to the sun as all the signs were saying its always sunny in Hervey Bay.

Hervey Bay has certainly grown since we were here about 10 years ago we didn't recognise anything.

The indigenous Butchulla people are the traditional residents of Hervey Bay. The first recorded European sighting of Hervey Bay was made by James Cook while carrying out his running survey of the east coast of Australia, on the 22 May 1770. "By noon Cook's ship was in a position a little over half-way across the opening of Hervey Bay heading for Bundaberg. Cook named the bay "Hervey's Bay" after Augustus John Hervey (1724–1779), later Third Earl of Bristol, a naval officer who became a Lord of the Admiralty the year Endeavour returned".

Until around the mid-1980s the area was serviced by a rail link from the Main North Coast line that diverted from Aldershot and went through Takura, Walligan, Nikenbah then on to Pialba and Urangan. The line was a major freight point for the Port of Maryborough and for the sugar cane industry until road transport assumed the role.

The pier at Urangan was built in 1917 to export sugar,coal and timber. In the 1960s sugar and coal exports stopped and petroleum imports began. 1980 all exports stopped. The whole pier was threatened with demolition, in 1985 Hervey Bay city council took over the lease. Today the pier is undergoing renovations but you can still walk the pier. The original length was 1124 metres today the present length is 868 metres.

After a walk around we head back to Maryborough.

Maryborough was founded in 1847, was proclaimed a municipality in 1861, and became a city in 1905. During the second half of the 1800s, the city was a major port of entry to immigrants arriving in Queensland from all parts of the world.

The name was derived from the Mary River which was named in 1847 after Lady Mary Lennox (1790–1847) the wife of Sir Charles Augustus Fitzroy, then Governor of the colony of New South Wales. Lady Mary was killed in a coach accident very soon after, devastating Sir Charles.

Maryborough railway station was opened in 1882 after a branch into Maryborough was built from the North Coast railway line.

Thursday is market day, these are quite large also with a couple of streets closed off. After lunch in a local cafe we have a look at the markets before walking around town.

Enjoyed walking around looking at the old buildings with the new. Woolworths is still closed after the floods that hit the town.

We headed back to the van after a very enjoyable day.

Entry Rating:     Why ratings?
Please Rate:  
Thank you for voting!
Share |