Today we headed south to explore the islands of Tasinge and Langeland both connected by bridges to Funen. It was a glorious summer day.
Our first stop was on the island of Tasinge at Troense a lovely little village with a pretty small harbour and thatched cottages. The cottages all have this rather strange and complicated roof line to their thatch. A lovely place to just stroll around.
Just a few more kilometres along the road was the Valdemars Slot. This was originally one of King Christian IV’s lavish palaces which was built for his son Valdemar Christian in 1644. His son never lived here as he died on at the age of 34. It was gifted to the naval hero Niels Juel who transformed into the baroque mansion seen today. Walking around the grounds with views of the sea we felt the house and grounds needed a bit of TLC and may be the English National Trust to give some advice.
From the castle we made our way onto the long thin island of Langeland and we had to decide whether we headed north or south. We opted for north to visit the little village of Tranekaer and the grounds of Tranekaer slot. . The grounds are home to Tikon a collection of outdoor art sculptures. Tony just couldn’t quite see the art in some of them but it was a good walk anyway.
We realised time had gone on leaving no time explore the southern end of the island before heading back to base. Also we were a hot and sticky and needed time in an air conditioned car.
The day ended with a glorious sunset over the campground. A change in the weather was forecast.