Heading east from Les Stes-Maries-de-la-Mer we visited the town of Aigues-Mortes (meaning Dead Waters) which was founded in 1240 by Louis IX. He was the first French King to have a Mediterranean port and it was from here he departed on the Crusades. He built a castle here which included the Constance Tower which still stands today.
In approaching the town we were amazed by the massive city walls and towers which remain virtually intact. These 1640 metres of city walls were built in two phases: the first during the reign of Philippe III the Bold and the second during the reign of Philippe IV the Fair, who had the enclosure completed between 1289 and 1300.
Within the walls there was a charming old town which included the Notre-Dames-des-Sablons which was built before the town walls during the lifetime of Louis IX.
We walked round the walls twice –once on the outside at ground level and then on the ramparts including the Constance Tower. The ground level walk gave us a real sense of the scale of the walls. The ramparts gave us the opportunity to explore the gate towers and views across the Carmargue.