The Olson's Retirement RV Adventures travel blog

Leaving the U. P.

Looking for a state sign. They call the U.P. the 51st state.

Makes you want to rent a Harley and find Bob Seager.

The Fort.

These guys keep firing the cannon. Its loud.

This guy looked authenic, right down to the loin cloth.

Outside.

Inside.

Guardhouse bed. Sleeps six.

The church. Always the biggest bldg.

Warehouse.

Couldn't find a thing for 1 Buck except yarn.

Backdoor.

Garden and Bakers house.

Another building being discovered.

Traders house. They were the rich guys.

Mackinaw City Lighthouse.

The bridge.

The Bridge made the lighthouse obsolete.

How to make beams by hand. Chip.

Then strip.

Making boards by hand.

Making boards the modern way.

Backing up.

Flutter wheel runs the saw.

Demonstration setup with different types of waterwheels.

Th explanation.

Also had a Zip Line.

We decided against it.

This guy was interviewing for Gophies job.


The state parks near Mackinaw City were all booked up. We stayed at Mill Creek Campground which is a family owned campground. It started as a 18 space campground and has over 500 sites today. It is on the water with views of the Mackinac Bridge. Very busy and active campground. Well run with activities for the kids.

The name "Mackinaw City" is something of a misnomer as it is actually a village. Mackinaw City is at the southern end of the Mackinac Bridge. Local attractions include Fort Michilimackinac, the Mackinac Bridge, the Mackinaw Crossings shopping mall, Mill Creek, the Old Mackinac Point Light.

Fort Michilimackinac was originally built by the French in 1714-1715 to control the fur trade and European development of the upper Great Lakes. Michilimackinac was more of a fortified community than a military outpost. The fort was later moved to the island. In the 1950's excavation of the fort began and is being reconstructed on it appeared in the 1770's.

The Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse was built after Congress appropriated funds for it in 1889. The light was first displayed on October 25, 1892. It was visible to ships sixteen miles away. It was in operation for 65 years. It is a beautiful state park. We toured the residences and climbed the lighthouse tower.

We visited Historic Mill Creek which is a saw mill constructed to provide lumber for nearby Mackinac Island. They have historical demonstrations by costumed interpreters. The interperter 'Mike' made the demonstration a lot of fun and very educational.

We had a busy day... Lots of pictures.



Advertisement
OperationEyesight.com
Entry Rating:     Why ratings?
Please Rate:  
Thank you for voting!
Share |